Skip to content

Brussels Sprouts…I love them, I love them not

November 20, 2010

Just this past week I have had a love / hate relationship with brussels sprouts.

http://www.sagemountainfarm.com/wheres-the-beef/2010/5/21/the-thrilla-of-the-grilla.html

Growing up, my mom would boil the little green bulbs, declaring them her FAVORITE vegetable. We always had to eat our vegetables at the dinner table and I would hold my nose while I ate them as quickly as I could so I could get them out of the way and savor the fluffy mashed potatoes and delicious meatloaf. The brussels sprouts were slimy and stinky and just plain gross (no offense mom).

I have avoided them my whole adult life un till just recently. I have been CRAVING them. I don’t know if it is the season or if it is the scrumptious recipes I have seen all over the internet.

This week I guess I lucked out. In my winter share from the Farm Direct Coop I picked up a ton of brussels sprouts! For the first time in years I steamed up some brussels sprouts and swiss chard and threw them back – not the gross, slimy brussels sprouts I was expecting, but delicious and fresh! Next, I tried them sauteed with some leek potato soup, another winner.

How do you prepare brussels sprouts? What are your favorite recipes?

I am actually thinking about preparing a brussels sprout side for Thanksgiving this year – Shredded Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Walnuts. Would you eat a brussels sprouts side dish or skip over for the green bean casserole?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Linds permalink
    November 21, 2010 8:38 am

    broccolli casserole for me! 🙂

  2. Valerie Nelson permalink
    November 21, 2010 11:12 am

    I love them too. They are wonderful chopped in half, then sauteed os they are brown on sone side. It seems to make them sweeter. Tossed with bits of bacon…GOOD!

  3. mom permalink
    November 21, 2010 1:16 pm

    The sprout recipe sounds great! I’ll make the green beans for the wimps!!!! My Brussel sprouts were not that slimy!!!

Leave a Reply

