Skip to content

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies with Cream Cheese Frosting

November 21, 2010

For the Pats game tonight and my potluck meeting tomorrow with the YMCA, I attempted to make Pumpkin Whoopie Pies with Cream Cheese Frosting. I followed the Blue Eyed Baker’s recipe they adapted from Baked.

The cake part was a little odd shaped because I ran out of vegetable oil and the dough was pretty sticky – the cakes still tasted fine. There were also some surprise chunks of cloves in the dough because I was trying to save some money…I ended up buying the spanish brand whole cloves because they were $6 cheeper than the McCormick ground cloves (check out the international aisle when buying spices, the spices there are usually less expensive then the spices in the baking aisle of your supermarket). I thought I could use my hand held processor to chop up the cloves but, they didn’t get as ground as I would have liked them (I heard a coffee grinder is perfect for this), but I did save some money!

Once the little pumpkin cakes were cooled and smothered in cream cheese frosting, they were pretty hard to resist.

I doubled the batch, made a mess in my kitchen, and ended up making 40 whoopie pies! I guess I will have to bring some of them into work tomorrow.

Have you ever messed up a recipe? Did you discover something new (like Steaming Sarah Cake) or did it turn into a disaster?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Carla Bekeritis permalink
    November 22, 2010 9:25 am

    Sarah….it was very obvious that your whoopie pies were extraordinary. When we all dug into them all you hear was…..ahhhh……ooohhhh…..mmmmmm. Thanks. We have exactly two left over today and you know they won’t last long into the day.

    • November 22, 2010 9:27 am

      I know – I had to bring them to work so we wouldn’t eat them all at home. Thanks for enjoying!

  2. Meg permalink
    November 22, 2010 12:52 pm

    Steaming Sarah Cake! Oh man, I thought Heather was going to make herself sick off that sugary “mistake’. I tried to recreate a baked pastsa dish that my uncle makes. It has lemon chicken and a cheesy alfredo type sauce. When I made it is was disgustinG! It was way too cheexy (it is possible) and the lemon was not strong enough.
    The whoopie pies look delightful! My parents told me they saw an interview with your dad where he had a recipe for some gingerbread ice cream sandwiches that also sounded amazing.

Leave a Reply

