Skip to content

Getting Ready for the Holidays

November 23, 2010

Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays. I love the food, family and fun. This year is going to be even better because I already have my workouts all lined up: teaching spin class Wednesday night, running in Salem’s Wild Turkey 5 Mile Run on Thanksgiving, then rounding it out with a Teen Spin class on Friday night and Spin and Sculpt on Sunday morning. If anyone reading wants to jump-start the holidays with some exercise, come spin with me on Wednesday or Sunday(I promise a challenging, but fun workout) and come run on Thursday!

Making a plan through the Holidays is important to keep you on track with your healthy goals – whether it’s to lose weight, maintain weight or strengthen. With a few tips you can keep yourself on track through the holidays.

Here are a few tip/suggestions through my life experiences:

  • Gyms often offer discounts on memberships before the new year. Two years ago the YMCA waived the joining fee as long as I paid for the current month,  I saved $50!
  • You are surrounded by friends and family – set a fitness goal together and keep each other on track. Support and motivation are extremely powerful in making you stick to your plan.
  • Take walks after those big meals. Stretch your legs and rev up that metabolism.
  • Sign up for a race. Winter races can be fun and there are plenty around, you can find 5ks to 20ks all over the North Shore. Check out Cool Runnings.
  • Sign up to bring a veggie side dish to your big meal so you have more options besides mashed potatoes at the dinner table.
  • Don’t skimp on food right before those big meals, make sure you eat a healthy breakfast or lunch and you wont be ravenous and tempted to overindulge in the appetizers.

Speaking of breakfast, I would like to share with you my new favorite morning treat: steaming banana, peanut butter and chocolate chip oats!

Sooooo delicious and so filling. I add some flax, an egg white and granola and it lasts me untill lunch…perfect!

What tips do you have to keep healthy goals through the holidays?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Meg permalink
    November 23, 2010 7:27 pm

    Sarah, You are so good about working out! I got my work out in today (body combat class, my fave workout right now since it is harder to run with the time switch) And I packed my running clothes in my overnight bag for Thursday AM and plan to get a run in before dinner. I love running when I spend the night over someone else’s, new routes and scenery is always awesome!

    That breakfast recipe looks yummy! I didn’t no chocolate chip oats existed! Seems like a yummy, cold morning breakfast. How much PB do you put in? Do you use low fat?

    • November 24, 2010 9:41 am

      OOoooo body combat sounds bad ass. Right now I have low sodium low fat peanut butter I got at a trade show, but I usually like using almond butter…yummm. (Also I just add the chocolate chips after cooking the oatmeal and they melt into the peanut butter….oohhhh so good!)

      • Meg permalink
        November 27, 2010 9:49 am

        I gotcha! I will def have to try it! How was your race?

Leave a Reply

