Skip to content

Pesto Chicken with Carrots, Parsnips and Linguine

December 1, 2010

This is a quick and easy dinner I made the other night.

What you will need:

  • 2 boneless chicken breasts
  • 2 carrots
  • 2 parsnips
  • Italian herbs
  • linguine

(I didn’t measure anything because I wanted to use up what we had left.)

Coat the chicken in pesto and Italian herbs then bake for about 15 minutes each side in a 350 degree oven.

While the chicken is baking, peel the parsnips and carrots into thin strips and steam. While the parsnips and carrots are steaming, cook the linguine. While you are waiting for everything to finish, have a glass of wine. Everything should be finished around the same time. After straining the pasta add a little pesto, the steamed parsnips and carrots and mix them all together. Serve with the chicken.

Fresh pesto is always delicious, but I don’t usually have the ingredients and right now my basil plant is dead. This past summer I made a large batch of pesto and froze it in ice-cube trays.

Now I can just pop a few out and use in a dish when I want to cook with pesto. Check out this recipe for pesto at Simply Recipes.

What are your favorite simple recipes?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenn permalink
    December 5, 2010 7:41 pm

    I saw this post Thursday at work (already had chicken out defrosting for dinner), but was dreading my usual lazy fajita dish, so I ran to Big Y and bought a jar of pesto – so jealous of your homemade basil cubes! – and bam within 35 minutes of walking in the door i had dinner ready! Thanks for the great idea, I hate getting stuck cooking the same repeat stuff every week … best part of this was i used it 3 different ways as leftovers! cold pesto pasta for lunch, pesto chicken pizza for the next dinner & chicken quesadillas for lunch today!

Leave a Reply

