Skip to content

Brrr It’s Cold Out There!

December 5, 2010

Working out can be a hassle when it is freezing outside, especially when you wake up in your nice warm bed thinking about the howling wind and freezing temperatures.  I must admit, there are occasions where I shut off the alarm and roll back over in my cozy bed – but this winter that is gonna change! I am going to set some goals and during my big winter transition – starting a new job and moving to the south shore, I am going to try and stick to these goals!

GOALS

  • Finish my morning M/W/F boot camp with a bang and attend all of my last three classes – no matter how cold it is.
  • Find a program while living in limbo (waiting till January 1st to move into a place while I start working on December 15th) that is flexible. Maybe trying out a few different gyms in the area using their free week long memberships.
  • Once moved, set up a membership at a YMCA near my work and inquire about teaching a spin class.

Here are a few things you can do to help motivate yourself to workout during the cold winter months:

  • Prepare! Lay out mittens, hat, and plenty of layers.
  • Layers, layers, layers – make sure the base layer is a moisture wicking material.
  • Invest in moisture wicking gloves.
  • Psych yourself up for a fun and different workout this winter. Try spinning, zumba or yoga and mix it up every time you go to the gym.
  • Take a few seconds for yourself in the steam room or sauna.
  • After you workout take a shower at the gym and get in to some warm cozy clothes before heading home.
  • Swim! I always get in the mood to swim when its cold out – WARM POOL! Also if you are new to swimming, it is a great workout and you can really work a bunch of muscles and get cardio in at the same time. I suggest taking at least one swim lesson to learn some drills or technique, then hit the pool.
  • Participate in outside sports you can only do in the winter! Ice skating, skiing, snowboarding, sledding (running up those hills is a great workout), cross country skiing and snowshoeing. Snowshoeing is gaining more and more popularity and is a really great workout. Sign up for a snowshoe race – even if you can’t run in snowshoes, walking in the race is fun too and you will burn a ton of calories. Check out the Olde Salem Greens Snowshoe Classic!

http://www.active.com/running/salem-ma/olde-salem-greens-snowshoe-classic-2011

How do you stay fit during the winter? What are some of your ways to stay motivated through the cold winter months?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Meg permalink
    December 5, 2010 6:58 pm

    Josh took a look at this and is now on me for hitting the pool at the Portsmouth club! I forget what a great workout swimming is. I can totally relate to this! Lately, I have been lounging in bed in the morning rather than getting up for my runs… I think signing up for a race helps to motivate you, once your financially committed your committed. And I think being prepared and having your bag packed or running clothes layed out totally helps!

    Also, Josh has quit smoking! Today is day 7 🙂 He says. Hi!

    • December 6, 2010 8:24 am

      YAY for day 7!!! Cross my fingers that he can see it through! Good luck Josh 🙂

  2. Emily permalink
    December 7, 2010 11:06 am

    I agree, swimming for me is my top choice for a workout. Everything else to me just hurts, but swimming is so easy on my muscles and joints. I’ve been a competitive swimmer my whole life, but recently took some time off. I’m now getting back into it with simple workouts..

    Those who want to try swimming and want to work out with some great aerobic activity you can try one of these workouts, or sometimes i just take bits and pieces of each workout and do what I can.

    warm up
    200 FREE
    200 BACK Kick for a 25, Swim for a 25
    100 IM SWIM
    100 BACK KICK
    100 FREE SWIM

    main set
    1 X ( 200 AER (aerobic, try to breathe less, maybe every 5 or 7 strokes),
    50 MAX,
    200 AER,
    50 MAX,
    200 AER,
    50 MAX —all 5 secs rest )

    warm down is a 200 easy 🙂

    another set is ……
    12 X 75 1-6 FREE @ 15 seconds rest
    7-12 IM (NO FREE) T @ 120 fly-bk-brst—or if you cant do fly just substitute it for a freestyle or backstroke

    12 X 50 50 IM @ 10 seconds rest, maximizing your heartrate

    12 X 25 @ 5 seconds rest, all out fast…

    200 warm down…

    all of these are great, adn you can customize them to your liking!

    Happy swimming 🙂

    • December 7, 2010 11:09 am

      Thanks Em, can you remind me what one length is in a regular YMCA pool. I always forget. 🙂

      • Emily permalink
        December 7, 2010 12:43 pm

        of course, one length is 25 yards, think of it as counting change for a dollar…25 cents is one length, 50 cents is 2 lengths etc etc 🙂

Leave a Reply

