Skip to content

Back in the Saddle Again

January 16, 2011

So, I haven’t written recently about fitness because I have been a complete slacker and not going to the gym. But I think I am starting to finally figure out my routine again! Here is where I am at right now:

  • Monday – 6am Boot Camp @ the Hanover YMCA (I haven’t been to the class yet, but the instructor is letting me come try it out tomorrow for free!)
  • Tuesday – 7am Beginner Pilates @ the Barnstable YMCA (I love this class. All we do is stretch and abs.)
  • Wednesday – 6am Group Cycle @ the Hanover YMCA (This is kinda new to me, all the YMCAs on the South Shore have the Keiser bikes.)
  • Thursday – 7am Beginner Pilates @ the Barnstable YMCA (LOVE IT!)
  • Friday – 6am Group Cycle @ the Hanover YMCA
  • Saturday – I have a few options – Body Pump, Group Cycle, Pilates, Yoga, Zumba @ the Hanover YMCA
  • Sunday – Some more options – Body Pump, Zumba @ the Hanover YMCA and  Community Yoga @ the Whitman Wellness Center (Right behind my house for only $5!)

Okay, some of you might not know what Body Pump is. I had no idea until I started reading some of my favorite blogs. I went today and I had SO much fun!

From the LES MILLS website: BODYPUMP™ is the original barbell class that strengthens your entire body. This 60-minute workout challenges all your major muscle groups by using the best weight-room exercises like squats, presses, lifts and curls. Great music, awesome instructors and your choice of weight inspire you to get the results you came for – and fast! Like all the LES MILLS™ programs, a new BODYPUMP™ class is released every three months with new music and choreography.

Okay, I won’t lie, I am pretty sore, but the class was a blast and went by so fast. It really made me feel motivated and excited about working out!

Obviously, I am not going to make it to all of these classes, but I hope to at least go 4 out of 7 days and to start fitting in some running – anyone want to be my running buddy on the South Shore?!

Update on keeping with my New Year’s Resolution:

  • Week One: Honey-Whiskey Pork Chops
  • Week Two: A New and Easy Hodgepodge – Marinated Chicken with Spinach, Roasted Everything (Peppers, Onions, Chickpeas), and Broccoli
  • Week Three: Any requests?

How are you doing on sticking with your New Year’s resolution?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Linds permalink
    January 16, 2011 2:24 pm

    your new schedule sounds like so much fun!
    i took ben to the beach today and was wishing i could’ve called you up and met you there! 😦 miss you!

Leave a Reply

