Skip to content

Running for Beer

February 6, 2011

SO, it has been over a month since I ran outside. After a horrible ride home from work the other day, I woke up the next morning and knew it was time to check out the roads in Whitman on foot. I mapped a 2 mile run and set out. I ended up not following the mapped run and ran 2.5 miles! I was so excited that after almost 2 months without running, I could still do it.

After being all hyped up about running 2 miles, I signed up for a race on Feb. 13th, the Patty Kelly 5 Mile Road Race. Yes this does seem a little ambitious, but a free beer for all runners, I could not pass this up (does anyone want to run with me?).

Also, for the first time ever, I ran with a book on tape (or book on iPod). Scott has been telling me over and over to read A Song of Ice and Fire series by Georges R. R. Martin. He bought me the first book in the series, A Game of Thrones. I have been listening to it on my ride to and from work and I am completely absorbed. I decided to try and listen to the story while I ran, the time went by so fast, it was an entertaining run with dire wolves, dragons, knights and lords. Nerdy, I know, but I highly recommend this book.

Keeping up with my New Year’s resolution:

  • Week One: Honey-Whiskey Pork Chops
  • Week Two: A New and Easy Hodgepodge – Marinated Chicken with Spinach, Roasted Everything (Peppers, Onions, Chickpeas), and Broccoli
  • Week Three: Apple Cupcakes (turned into apple muffins and were really dry, but they were cute!)
  • Week Four: Spinach Linguine with herb buttered seared scallops, red bell peppers, garlic and shallots
  • Week Five: Cod, breaded with lemon, herbs and butter

What are you cooking up for the Super Bowl?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Annsley permalink
    February 6, 2011 10:11 am

    Nice update! Looks like you have been doing a good job with your resolution. All of the dishes so far sound yummy (especially the Pork Chops- mmm). I am making Portobello Mushroom fajitas for the Superbowl today with some 5 layer dip and chips to start. What are you making for the big game? 🙂

    • February 6, 2011 12:52 pm

      I am making it to Tim’s haha! Portobello Mushroom fajitas sound SO good!

      • Annsley permalink
        February 6, 2011 12:55 pm

        Haha well if your going to Tim’s you definitely won’t leave hungry. Have some of that peanut butter pie Amanda posted for me!

Leave a Reply

