Skip to content

I Ran and Conquered

February 14, 2011

Yesterday I ran in the Patty Kelly 5 mile race. I was nervous about not being able to find the motivation to run and this week I stepped it up. I laced up my sneakers and ran. I was worried I was not going to be able to make the 5 miles. The last time I had run that distance was Thanksgiving! BUT I made it, I never stopped, and I conquered the 5 miles. The post race chili and Blue Moon was a nice way to recover…YUM.

I just registered Scott and I for the Disney Wine & Dine Half Marathon. This year Scott got his wish – we are going to Disney World and I got mine – we are running a half marathon together. I am so jealous of all the couples you see running together and I could never get Scott to run with me, he just doesn’t find it fun, but he finds Disney fun 🙂

Here is a little bit about the race from the website:

DISNEY WINE & DINE HALF MARATHON
Saturday, October 1, 2010
10:00 p.m.

Start: ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex
Finish:Epcot® World Showcase
The Disney Wine & Dine Half Marathon will be run on a brand new half marathon course at the Walt Disney World® Resort, and it will be run at night!  Where else can you run a half marathon at night?  Running through theme parks and world-class Disney entertainment along the way will make the miles fly by, but what could motivate you more than finishing inside Epcot® to an exclusive after-hours party inside the Epcot® International Food & Wine Festival?

This race experience will be the ultimate “Runner’s Night Out”. Mark your race calendars now for the race weekend with a party you don’t want to miss!

Disney Wine & Dine Half Marathon features:

  • Nighttime half marathon
  • 13.1-mile course through Walt Disney World® Theme Parks
  • Disney Entertainment on-course
  • Exclusive After Hours Epcot® International Food & Wine Festival for participants and their families
  • Event Weekend Transportation from the Event Host Resorts only

Each participant’s Disney Wine & Dine Half Marahon registration includes:

  • Champion® Race tech Shirt
  • Half Marathon Finisher medal
  • Official Race Program Guide
  • Goody Bag
  • Personalized Bib (Must register by August 1, 2011 for name to appear on bib)
  • On-course and Post-Race Refreshments
  • ChronoTrack D-tag timed race
  • Personalized results website
  • Access to the exclusive after-hours Epcot® International Food & Wine Festival
  • One (1) Complimentary “Taste” and one (1) Complimentary “Sip” at the Finish Line Party

I am SO excited! I am also excited about the day trip we are going to take to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter™ at Universal Orlando (nerdy, I know, but I love it).

I have to tell you about one of the best breakfasts I have had in a long time: leftover wild rice, sauteed mushrooms, cooked with 2 scrambled eggs. It would even be a great dinner side dish. SO GOOD!

Have you ever ran in a destination race? What destination race have you dreamed about?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Meg permalink
    February 27, 2011 5:35 pm

    I am really getting excited about this wine and dine race. I think I have Josh on board too! Totally agree about being jealous of couples running together!! I just did 5miles after a month off of running and it felt awesome to get back into it!

    • February 28, 2011 7:10 am

      Wow 5 miles after being off for a month, I am impressed! I am struggling with 3 right now – I am also jealous of your scenery 🙂

Leave a Reply

