Skip to content

Yoga and Onions

March 1, 2011

Happy March! Only 12 days till daylight savings and 20 days till Spring!

This past Sunday was very relaxing…

I finally got a full 10 hours of sleep. Once I got up, I had a lazy morning just sitting around the house reading – I am still reading the series A Song of Ice and Fire, by George R. R. Martin (so good!).

I attended community yoga at the Whitman Wellness Center, only a 1 minute walk from my home. I really enjoyed the class, I also thought it was great that the $5 class fee went to the instructor’s charity of choice.

After yoga, I went home and “researched” recipes for dinner. I wanted to make something nice for Scott and decided to make Honey Roasted Onion Tart as an appetizer and Pork Chops with ShallotsMashed Sweet Potato and Parsnip, and Roasted Broccoli and Carrots as the main course. I got a quick run in before I headed out to the store to pick up a few ingredients.

Once I got home I started cooking, first starting with the Onion Tart. This was sure to be a winner – two of Scott’s favorite foods: onions and bacon.

While the puff pastry was thawing, I cooked the bacon, then the onions. I followed the recipe exactly until I got to the crème fraîche. I substituted crème fraîche for ricotta – tart turned pizza (I could not find crème fraîche at the store and gave up).

I must say, the tart…pizza was quite delicious.

Oh that flaky crust!

Okay on to the main course.

The Mashed Sweet Potato and Parsnip side dish was easy to make ahead of time – boil the ingredients and mash them up. Then, I roasted the Broccoli and Carrots in a 400 degree oven for about 30-40 minutes.

While the broccoli and carrots were in the over I started the Pork Chops and Shallots. I followed the recipe seasoning the meat, cooking it stove top, then in the oven. While the pork chops were in the oven, I started cooking the shallots.

Oh yes!

Everything finished cooking at the same time – the Pork Chops with Shallots, Mashed Sweet Potato and Parsnip, and Roasted Broccoli and Carrots – a delicious success!

What did you do this weekend? What are your plans for next weekend?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Annsley permalink
    March 2, 2011 7:52 am

    Your tart looks amazing!!! FYI crème fraîche can usually be found in the cheese section in the grocery store (at least that’s where it is in my local Stop & Shop.) However, many moons ago I made a really good spaghetti squash au gratin that called for it and my local store was out. I was advised that if you do 1/2 cup of sour cream and 1/2 cup of whipping cream you get the same type of consistency and flavor. I used that instead and the recipe was a hit! I am loving your updates, keep ’em coming! Now I just need to come meet your kitchen in person 😉

  2. March 2, 2011 8:51 pm

    Yes you do need to come visit! I will have to try the 1/2 and 1/2 method, thanks!

  3. Meg permalink
    March 5, 2011 7:40 am

    That tart looks delicious!! Wow… may have to try that!

Leave a Reply

